Sponsored by the Morning Star and The Political Cartoon Gallery (London, UK).

Iran, China and Brazil are the unanimous choice

The first Ken Sprague International Political Cartoon Competition was a huge success. Over 200 cartoonists from 44 countries submitted cartoons on the themes of peace, social justice and humanitarian values. The jury of leading cartoonists, Martin Rowson and Steve Bell, trade unionists Frances O Grady and Ken Gill, artists Jackson Sprague and Michal Boñcza were impressed by the high standard of submissions.

It  was decided to award two joint first prizes and one third prize. In making  their decision the jury said that the cartoon on the subject of peace by Edik Boghosian Konaraki from Iran was an original and imaginative way of presenting  a well-worn subject, using simple means in an effective and graphic manner.  Peace has been ossified for generations, but the small green olive branch  showed that there was still hope of achieving it in our lifetimes - it sent a  powerful message.

The cartoon by Zhang Bin from China, also on the subject of peace, revealed excellent draughtsmanship and it was again a very powerful image, recycling the Biblical exhortation to ‘turn our swords into ploughshares’. The third prize-winner,  Raimundo Waldez da C. Duarte from Brazil, showed a sharply satirical sense of  humour and provided a comical take while conveying a serious undertone  message. It portrayed, with biting humour, the military’s disdain for peace –  for them the only goal being selfish  indulgence.

It is hoped to make the Ken Sprague International Political Cartoon Competition an annual event.

Cartoonists  from the following countries submitted their work:

Argentina, Armenia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany,Greece, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Nigeria, Palestine, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia and  Montenegro, Serbia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Syria, Tanzania, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United  Kingdom, Uruguay, USA Uzbekistan

Joint first prize-winners: Edik Boghosian Konaraki (Iran) and Zhang Bin (China)

Third prize-winner: Raimundo Waldez da C. Duarte (Brazil)

shortlisted entries


Joint First Prize
Zhang Bin (China)

Joint First Prize
Boghosian Konaraki (Iran)

Third Prize
Raimundo Waldez da C. Duarte (Brazil)